Refugee Vetting

Let’s be clear on one thing: The refugee vetting process in the United States is already ‘extreme’. It is the most difficult way to get into the country, and by turning away people who have already been through this onerous process, we are not making ourselves safer, we are just hurting them.

The current travel ban would not have stopped the September 11th attacks. There have been NO fatal terrorist attacks in the US committed by anyone from ANY of the countries currently banned. There have been no fatal terrorist attacks that have been committed by refugees since the current vetting process has been in place.

And while we are at it, the Trump travel ban is completely different from when Obama limited immigration in 2011. What Obama did in 2011 was to temporarily halt processing of refugees from Iraq in response to a specific incident. The difference is that it was a narrow action in response to a specific threat, and it didn’t lock out people out whom we’ve already welcomed in.

There’s a post going around Facebook, something about “I don’t lock my door at night because I hate the people outside, but because I love the people inside.” But, if I had a renter, someone who I had lived with for years and was on good terms with, would I be justified in changing the locks and barring the doors while they were out? If my neighbors house was caught fire, in the middle of a snow storm, wouldn’t I open my doors and welcome them in? Right now, we aren’t locking out strangers, we are slamming the door in the face of friends.

“For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me” Matthew 35:25

References:

This entry was posted in Politics, Refugees. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

