Nutella Cresent Star

img_8005

  • Recipe source: http://www.popsugar.com/food/Braided-Nutella-Croissant-Bread-37225124
  • Modifications
    • Used two tubes of ‘big and flaky’ crescent rolls instead of four regular tubes
      • They are cheaper and four tubes seemed like a lot
    • Shaping the dough
      • Not as easy as it looks in the video
      • I tried rolling it, it wasn’t working for me
      • This is more of a bread dough than a cookie dough, so I treated it as such – more pinching and pressing and stretching than rolling
    • Used an 8 inch circle instead of a 10 inch
      • Because I used less dough
      • And I have an 8 inch circle handy
      • And I don’t have a pizza pan, so I had to fit it on a cookie sheet
    • I didn’t use the whole jar of Nutella
      • Because I used less dough
      • Next time, I will use the whole jar
    • Used a tiny Tupperware cup instead of a mason jar
      • Because I used a smaller circle, and because that seemed like a lot of unused dough
    • I did not cut off the excess dough to make a perfect circle
    • Skipped the egg wash
      • Mainly because I forgot

 

 

A friend tagged me in a video recipe of Christmas Tree shaped pastry made of puff pastry and Nutella. But I didn’t really like that recipe – I’ve never used puff pastry before, and the shaping of the tree looked unnecessarily finicky. So I searched around and I found this recipe. Then I simplified it even further. I didn’t make it for Christmas, but I did bring it for new years. It was delicious, and big hit. There was none left by the end of the evening.

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

