Gingerbread House

There was a gingerbread house contest at work this week….

img_7804

It might have been more epic, but I only had three days to prepare.

I used this recipe for the ginger bread: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/gingerbread-house-recipe.html.

I’ve never made gingerbread before, so I followed the recipe pretty closely. I doubled the recipe, and I did bake for a few extra minutes, as one of the comments suggested (because I was more interested it structural integrity than possible over-baking). I also left out the ground cloves (because I didn’t have any).

The glue/mortar is all almond bark. The roof shingles are Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Things I learned:

  • Chilling the dough too long makes it really hard to work with
    • I mixed it one night and baked it the next. I had to use an ice cream scoop to get it out of the bowl, then work it for a while to get it flat on the cookie sheets.
  • When designing the house, remember that gingerbread has depth
    • It will not fit together the same you the card stock templates do
  • Cinnamon Toast Crunch is more curvy than I realized, but it turned out to be a cool look. (I only bought the cereal because it had a minion toy in it…)
  • Cinnamon Toast Crunch is delicious with almond bark
  • Those M&M’s take forever to put on
  • I should have cut windows and put an led tea light inside
    • I thought of it as soon as I’d finished decorating
  • The Howl’s Moving Castle movie is even closer to the book than I remembered when I first watched the movie (I was listening to the audio book while decorating)

img_7815

My house did not place in the contest (top 3 got prizes). So I took it home and butchered it.

To be fair, there were some pretty cool entries:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Candy-Land got first place, followed by the football stadium, then the store. Personally, as impressed as I am by the Candy-Land display, I think they cheated by using graham crackers for the main house. And I think some of those decorations are non-edible.

More photos: https://goo.gl/photos/du8bQhFe8vqgd6my9

This entry was posted in Christmas, Crafts, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

