Folly Cosplay Part 3: Stockings

“she wore stockings instead of shoes – green and white polka dots on one foot and orange and purple stripes on the other”

I’m interpreting ‘stockings’ as knee-high socks. I have to be a little careful buying tall socks because I have wide calves, so a lot of knee-socks won’t fit, especially ones with patterns.

Striped socks are easy to find, no matter what the color combination.

img_7320

Socks with polka dots, not so much. I would have gone with anything that could reasonably be described as ‘green and white polka dots’ – white with green polka dots, green with white polka dots, some other solid color with both green and white polka dots. I did find one that was green with white polka dots that would work (https://www.amazon.com/Pairs-Womens-Design-Colorful-Patterned/dp/B016P54C66/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8), but from the reviews, I would probably have trouble with the fit and it wasn’t prime eligible so I would have to pay for shipping and take my chances of it getting here on time. Plus, I had another plan.

img_7315

I found a pair of white knee-socks at Joann Fabric, and I have a rather large collection of sharpies, fabric markers, and fabric paint. I used a roll of electrical tape as a stencil. I used an old white sock to try out the different markers and practice using the stencils (I had two rolls of tape in slightly different sizes).

img_7361

I washed the sock to see how the colors would hold up.

img_7365

The Marks-a-lot marker bled, so that was out. I liked the Sharpie fabric marker best for color and ease of application.

img_7657

Some of the dots are a different color, because I ran the marker dry. I used a regular Sharpie to go over the dots that were partially covered and to add a few more. I used both of the tape-stencils.

 

https://www.amazon.com/AJs-Adult-Striped-Knee-Socks/dp/B007XGDTHA/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

http://www.joann.com/adult-white-socks-size-9-10/10695476.html#q=socks&prefn1=prod_type&prefv1=Product&start=4

This entry was posted in Cosplay, Folly Cosplay. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

