TardisMouse

Pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/tardis-mouse
Yarn: Sincerely by Purl Essence Everyday; Sincerely Royal Blue, Sincerely Black, Sincerely White ($2.49 each)
Needles: size 3.25 double pointed

01-IMG_4076

The instructions say to knit round or flat; I started knitting flat, then decided to knit in the round, starting about where the decreases end. After a few rows of color work, I decided it would be easier to knit flat, so that I wouldn’t have long strands running across the back. At one point, near the middle, I did another few rows in the round so that the stranded colors would be on the right side, then I switched back to knitting flat.

02-IMG_3962

After I finished the color work, I switched back to knitting in the round. I misread the chart and knitted the eyes in black, where it calls for a purl in the main color, but I’m happy with how it turned out.

About halfway through the decreases I seamed where I knit flat and stuffed the mouse. I wish I’d embroidered the words ‘Police Box’ at that time, but I forgot and didn’t do it until the very end.

03-IMG_396504-IMG_3966

05-IMG_396806-IMG_396907-IMG_3970

There are three different patterns for the ears. Two are crochet and one is knit. I’m just learning to crochet, and I thought about trying the larger crochet pattern, but I thought the knitted ears looked cuter. (and I love how they turned out! They are so adorable!) I knit an extra ear in each color, because I wasn’t sure what I was doing for the first one.

08-IMG_397209-IMG_3975

10-IMG_397711-IMG_397812-IMG_3979

I wish I’d sewn on the ears before I stuffed the mouse. I’m not sure I’ve attached them as firmly as I could have.

13-IMG_3980 14-IMG_3983

Embroidery is not my strong suit. I’m not entirely happy with the nose; I think it ended up too big, especially in comparison with the eyes.

15-IMG_3981 16-IMG_3984 17-IMG_3985

I almost forgot to add the ‘Police Box’ embroidery. Like I said, embroidery is not my strong suite, but I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out. I do wish I had remembered to do this right after the black section; I haven’t figured out how to tie off the ends from the front.

19-IMG_399118-IMG_3987

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TardisMouse

  1. Angi says:

    Hey, don’t go dissing Rory the Tardis rat!:)

Leave a Reply

