Pi Plus Two Day

Happy Pi + 2 Day!

3-14-15 was the Ultimate Pi Day of the Century. I didn’t get a post then because I was busy celebrating (and making treats, not in that order).

Last year I made some epic decorations for Pi-Month. I cut numbers out of cereal boxes, each about six to eight inches tall. I painted each one individually, mostly solid colors, some with two blended colors. I don’t remember how many digits I had, but I’m pretty sure it was more than 50. I had a larger piece of thin cardboard cut in the shape of pi and painted rainbow colors in a tie-dye pattern. And I can’t find any of them.

Eventually I gave up, and made new decorations. This is my Pi Poster.

4-IMG_3511

You may notice that the colors are suspiciously similar to the colors from my cubicle castle. In fact, the cardboard was left over from the castle too. I painted the whole thing in one evening.

1-IMG_3665

The numbers go across the bottom, then up the right side, across the top, the down the right side. I didn’t count how many digits I used.

This is my Knit Pi. I would give you the pattern, but I didn’t use one. I used some techniques I learned recently making a stuffed cow and ‘human beans’. (both of which I intend to post about … eventually)

1-IMG_3504

Pi Bread! I didn’t even cut it, but we ate a lot of it anyway. (I just put bread dough on a cookie sheet in the shape of pi and baked it like normal.)

2-IMG_3507

Pi Fudge. I had to make three batches to get enough digits and enough p’s for “Happy Pi Day”. I bought the silicone molds for the numbers and letters on Amazon (http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M16L9ZQ/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1). They ended up being a really good size for fudge.

3-IMG_3510

The circle shapes with the letter pi were made in a silicone cupcake mold. I made the letter on the bottom with almond bark using a butter knife. I tried piping it from a ziplock bag, but it didn’t work as well. The trick to making them turn out is to chill them before pouring in the fudge. The first batch didn’t look nearly as nice, but since I was making three batches to get all the characters I needed, I had time to perfect it. Also, I still have a lot of fudge in my fridge.

Pi Necklace. Made out of Sculptey, formed free hand. This is the first time I used Sculptey since high school art class. I’m really happy with the way it turned out. This was my practice one, eventually I’m going to make one using the purple sparkly clay. I think I’ll make the loop on the top sideways instead of flat, so I won’t need a jump ring. The one I have on this one is made out of phone wire wrapped around itself a few times.

5-IMG_3517

This is my Pi Cape. I was making a blanket this summer and my friend kept telling me I should make a cape. So, I made a small cape. With pi on it.

6-IMG_3522

Pi Day Cookies. Did I forget to take a picture of my Pi Cookies? They are just chocolate chip cookies with pi drawn on them with almond bark.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

