Chocolate Pretzel Crack

1-IMG_3660

I started making these for Halloween – I was going to put eyes on them and use them for the Halloween food contest at work, but we ended up not having one this year (probably a good thing, considering how much time I put into my cubicle castle).

I brought first drafts of the treats to a party and they were a huge hit. (And part of the reason my name is now apparently “Snack Lady”)

01-IMG_3629

chocolate chips
coconut oil
mini pretzel sticks (broken)
mini marshmallows

Break up the pretzels.
03-IMG_3621
Break each one into two or three pieces. I grab handfuls and break them with my hands. I then pick them up gently and put them in a different container. I don’t want to get all the powdery crumbs and loose salt.

04-IMG_3623

Melt the chocolate chips and the coconut oil in the microwave.
02-IMG_3620
I use a 2c glass measure cup, set the microwave for 3 minutes on power level 3, stir after 30 seconds, then every 5 to 10 seconds after that. I stir it with a butter knife. Make sure to heat it the minimum amount  possible.

Put the pretzels and marshmallows in a medium size bowl.
07-IMG_3644
I use a Pampered Chef 8c glass measure cup – aka Large Batter Bowl.

Pour the melted chocolate-and-coconut oil onto the pretzels-and-marshmallows. Stir until completely coated.

08-IMG_3633
I use a Pampered Chef Super Scraper. Just keep stirring, kind of a scooping and folding motion works best.

09-IMG_3649

Use a spoon to drop small piles of goodness onto parchment paper. Wait for the chocolate to harden, then store in an airtight container.

11-IMG_3652
(There’s no need for the cooling racks, I just use them because they stack and I have limited counter space.)

Modifications

If you replace the pretzels with crunchy lo mein noodles it looks cooler, but it doesn’t taste as good. You’ll want to add salt, but I haven’t experimented with it enough to know how much salt.

Halloween: Attach eyes onto a cluster with almond bark. Buy candy eyes or make them out of almond bark. Call it a bug or a monster.

Easter/Spring: Attach three jelly beans or chocolate eggs in the spring and call it a nest.

1-IMG_3676

Ingredient Notes: I more or less made up all of the proportions. Honestly, I don’t measure this. The coconut oil helps the chocolate melt more smoothly helps it harden. I haven’t noticed any taste from it. You can add a bit of vegetable or olive oil instead to help it melt smoothly, or stick with just chocolate, but it won’t set up quite as nicely. Use semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips, not milk chocolate. I like Costco semi-sweet chips, because they are 51% cocoa. (There actually isn’t any difference between semi-sweet chocolate and dark chocolate.)

Recipe

1 c chocolate chips
1 T coconut oil
4 c mini pretzel rods (broken)
2 c mini marshmallows

Break up the pretzels.
Melt the chocolate chips and the coconut oil in the microwave.
Put the pretzels and marshmallows in a medium size bowl.
Pour the melted chocolate-and-coconut oil onto the pretzels-and-marshmallows. Stir until completely coated.
Use a spoon to drop small piles of goodness onto parchment paper. Wait for the chocolate to harden, then store in an airtight container.

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

