Pancakes

11-IMG_3571

One day, I wanted pancakes. Then I realized: I can make pancakes! I got a pancake recipe from the internet, and I made pancake, and I realized: Pancakes are really easy to make. And: I can make chocolate chip pancakes whenever I want!!!!

My first challenge was a lack of baking powder. Some more internetting led to another revelation: Baking Powder is just Baking Soda and Cream of Tarter! (not necessarily cream of tarter, but an acid) That does explain my grandma’s cookie recipe.

01-IMG_354804-IMG_3560

1/4 C whole wheat flour
1 C white flour
1/4 C cocoa powder
1 1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t cream of tartar
pinch salt
1 T sugar
1 1/4 C milk
1 egg
3 T melted butter
1 C chocolate chips (heaping)

Mix dry ingredients. Break up egg a bit (I use a fork). 02-IMG_3556

Add wet ingredients to dry. Stir. Stir as little as possible, don’t worry about getting out the lumps. If you stir too much the pancakes will be tough, that’s why I stir the eggs first.
03-IMG_3559

Stir in the chocolate chips.

05-IMG_3562

Pour some on on a hot griddle/fry pan. How much depends on how big you want your pancakes – I like to make small ones.

06-IMG_3564

The trickiest part about pancakes is figuring out the timing. It’s ready to flip when you see bubbles on the top. The top should look a little less wet that it started too.

07-IMG_3566

The second half of the cooking is harder to judge, because you can’t tell just by looking at the top. The second half usually takes less time. When you think it’s done, try to flip it to check. If it sticks too bad, it probably needs to cook longer. The color won’t be as dark as the first side, because the texture is rougher (all those bubbles).

08-IMG_356709-IMG_3568

10-IMG_3569

Modifications:

I usually replace some of the flour with cocoa powder. I do this with a lot of recipes, because cocoa is actually good for you. (No, really, plain, unsweetened cocoa is actually good for you. The chocolate we usually eat is prepared with lots of fat and sugar – that’s what drives the over all nutrition down.) Also, it is delicious. I usually replace about 1/3 cup. I have a specific reason for that measurement: I have more 1/3 cup measure cups than any other size. There is almost always a clean one. The drawback to adding cocoa is that it makes it harder to judge cooking time. (The batter is brown, so it doesn’t change color as it cooks.)

Sometimes I replace the butter with mashed up banana. I like the flavor. I’ve tried 1/4 C of milk with plain yogurt. That starts to mess with the flavor and texture. Plus then I have to figure out what to do with the rest of the plain yogurt.

One modification I would not recommend is the use of rancid butter. Turns out, rancid butter tastes kind of soapy. It’s not terribly good for you in the long term, but it won’t make you immediately sick (unless you gag on the taste…). It was my first time trying to make blueberry pancakes too.

12-IMG_3551

Recipe

1/4 C whole wheat flour
1 C white flour
1/4 C cocoa powder
1 1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t cream of tartar
pinch salt
1 T sugar
1 1/4 C milk
1 egg
3 T melted butter
1 C chocolate chips (heaping)

Mix dry ingredients. Break up egg a bit (I use a fork).
Add wet ingredients to dry. Stir (but not too much, as little as possible, don’t worry about getting out the lumps)
Stir in the chocolate chips.
Pour some on on a hot griddle/fry pan.

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

