Unicorn Poop Cookies

I found a recipe for Unicorn Poop Cookies, and I couldn’t not try them.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Unicorn-Poop/

Here’s the original recipe:

1/4 C Shortening
1/2 C Butter
2 Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla
2 1/2 C Flour
1 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Salt

Mix well shortening, sugar, eggs and flavoring. Measure flour by dip-level-pour method or by sifting. Blend flour, baking powder and salt; stir in. Chill at least 1 hr. Heat oven to 400° mod. hot). Roll 1/8″ thick on floured board. Cut with 3″ cooky cutter. Place on ungreased baking sheet. Bake 6 to * min. Makes about  doz.

Now, I can’t just leave a recipe alone, so I tweaked it a bit.
My Recipe:

3/4 c Shortening
1 c Sugar
2 Eggs
1 t Vanilla
1/8 t Almond Extract
2 1/4 c flour
1/4 c Powdered Sugar
1 t Cream of Tartar
1/2 t Baking Soda
1/4 t Salt

Blend: shortening, sugar
Add: eggs,vanilla, almond extract
Blend some more.
Combine: dry ingredients
Slowly add dry ingredients to dough (mixer on lowest setting)

Chill – only half an hour or so, just so it is easier to handle.
Separate into 6 sections for coloring. I don’t bother to use flour when manipulating the dough, I just use my Pampered Chef silicon mat.
I used Wilton icing coloring and stirred it in a cereal bowl, using a regular spoon.

IMG_1711

After that, chill some more, preferably over night. The dough should be in ziplock baggies, or covered well with plastic wrap.

Now to shape the cookies. Roll the dough into snakes, lay them next to each other, and roll them together. I find it easiest to squish the snakes down, gently pinch the long sides together, pinch it all together, then roll it.

IMG_1713

Gently twist the new rainbow snake

IMG_1714

Pinch smaller sections off the snake and roll them a bit more, then shape them into poop shapes

IMG_1715

I make my cookies much smaller than the original poster. I have found with all of my treats that the smaller I make them, the more people eat – it’s not proportional either, 1/2 the size and people will take 3 or  times more. (plus, I’m going to all this trouble to make these, I want to make a lot)

IMG_1717

Chill some more.

Preheat oven to 400°
Sprinkle white sugar on the cookies (as much as they can hold)
Bake for…10 minutes?…I’m really bad at this part, I put them in for 5 minutes then check for what feels right…I know…not helpful…

I always bake them on my Pampered Chef Stoneware, so that even if I leave them in too long they just get crispier, not burnt.

IMG_1707

If you want the shiny balls, stick them in the cookies right away after they come out of the oven.

The cookies are perfectly tasty and fun-looking as they are, but more decorating is always possible.

IMG_1710

Sparkle gel makes it sparkly, but I don’t really like it. It always stays sticky and I can’t stack the cookies. Someone on the internet suggested glaze, like on pies. I haven’t had a chance to try it yet.

IMG_1748IMG_1751  IMG_1749 IMG_1750

We have a Halloween food contest at work every year. This was my entry.
(Second place!)
(My department had a Despicable Me theme)

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unicorn Poop Cookies

  1. Pingback: Dispicable Me Edith Gru Costume | geekgirlmae

  2. Pingback: Halloween Cubicle Decorating 2013 – Gru’s Website | geekgirlmae

Leave a Reply

